Uploaded image for project: 'Documentation'
  1. Documentation
  2. DOCS-10106

Remind to disable authentication before mongorestore step in "Change Config Servers to WiredTiger"

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • # Replies:
      2
    • Last comment by Customer:
      true
    • Story Points:
      0.3
    • Sprint:
      KANBAN BUCKET

      Description

      In https://docs.mongodb.com/v3.2/tutorial/change-config-server-wiredtiger/ we currently fail to advise users that they will need to disable authentication before they can do the following step.

      The thrice-repeated section about using mongorestore:

      Upload the exported data using mongorestore to the second/third/first config server.

      Use mongorestore to upload the exported data. Specify additional options as appropriate. See mongorestore for available options.

      mongorestore <exportDataDestination>

      When the mongorestore finishes, the second/third/first config server upgrade to use WiredTiger is complete.

      I suggest the following wording for the first paragraph.

      "Use mongorestore to upload the exported data. Authentication will have to be temporarily disabled to permit this. Specify additional options as appropriate. Re-enable authentication as soon as the restore is complete. See mongorestore for available options."

        Attachments

          Activity

            People

            Assignee:
            jeffrey.allen Jeffrey Allen
            Reporter:
            akira.kurogane Akira Kurogane
            Participants:
            Last commenter:
            Jeffrey Allen
            Docs Reviewer:
            Irene Smith
            Votes:
            0 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            2 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              Created:
              Updated:
              Resolved:
              Days since reply:
              2 years, 23 weeks, 5 days ago
              Date of 1st Reply: