Uploaded image for project: 'Core Server'
  1. Core Server
  2. SERVER-5671

delete and removeRange are logged to the oplog before deleting instead of after

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Question
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Major - P3
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: None
    • Fix Version/s: 2.7.1
    • Component/s: Sharding

      Description

      Most operations are logged after being performed (presumably under the assumption that an assertion occurring during the operation indicates the operation was not applied and should not be logged). However, delete and removeRange seem to be logged to the oplog before being performed.

      Even if there may not be a complete story in place for logging properly under all error conditions, it may make sense for delete and removeRange to be consistent with other operations.

        Attachments

          Activity

            People

            Assignee:
            greg_10gen Greg Studer
            Reporter:
            aaron Aaron Staple
            Participants:
            Votes:
            0 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            3 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              Created:
              Updated:
              Resolved: